### **APPROVED MINUTES of the Elmont Board of Education**

SPECIAL MEETING DECEMBER 20, 2023

# VOLUME XXXVIII, PAGE 135 ELMONT, NEW YORK

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

#### SPECIAL MEETING

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Board of Education of the Elmont Union Free School District, Town of Hempstead, Nassau County, New York, was held on Monday, December 4, 2023.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Tiffany Capers, Vice President Sharon Earley Davis Michael A. Jaime Tania Lawes

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Nancy Garlick, President Dr. Tameka Battle-Burkett Angel L. Ramos

#### ADMINISTRATIVE PERSONNEL PRESENT:

Diana Delahanty, District Clerk

#### PUBLIC SESSION

Ms. Capers led the pledge of allegiance at 7:00 PM.

On a motion by Ms. Earley Davis, seconded by Mr. Jaime, the Board convened in Public Session at 7:01 PM.

Yes - 4 No- 0 Abstain- 0 Motion Carried Unanimously

Ms. Capers read the following resolution to appoint a Hearing Officer in the matter of Disciplinary Proceedings.

On a motion by Mr. Jaime, seconded by Ms. Earley Davis, the Board approved the following resolution to appoint a Hearing Officer:

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Elmont Board of Education hereby appoints Steve Kasarda as the Hearing Officer in the matter of Disciplinary Proceedings against Employee # 1418. The hearing will be conducted in accordance with Civil Service Law Section 75. Hearing Officer Kasarda is hereby directed to cause a transcript to be made of the hearing, which will be referred to the Board, along with his findings of fact and recommendations as to penalty, if any, for review and final decision by the Board.

Yes - 4 No- 0 Abstain- 0 Motion Carried Unanimously RESOLUTION-TO APPOINT A HEARING OFFICER

ROLL CALL

PUBLIC SESSION

# **APPROVED MINUTES of the Elmont Board of Education**

# SPECIAL MEETING DECEMBER 20, 2023

VOLUME XXXVIII, PAGE 136 ELMONT, NEW YORK

## ADJOURNMENT:

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Mr. Jaime, seconded by Ms. Earley Davis, the Board adjourned Public Session at 7:02 PM.

Yes – 4 No- 0 Abstain- 0 Motion Carried Unanimously

Submitted by,

Diana Delaharty

Diana Delahanty District Clerk

February 6, 2024 Date Approved